Alderweireld keen on a move away

Ajax defender Toby Alderweireld is keen to move to the Premier League imageamid reported interest from Liverpool and Tottenham.

The 24-year-old has eyes only for the Premier League or Germany’s Bundesliga, having also been linked with lucrative moves to Russia or Portugal.

He told De Telegraaf: “That is not my preference. England and Germany are the best leagues where I think I can take the next step.

“I have to go somewhere where I can play football a bit and where my style of play suits.

“On the other hand, I do not want to play for a team at the bottom of their league. I want to leave Ajax for a nice club, otherwise I’ll just stay in Amsterdam.”

Liverpool have been most often linked with the Belgian and have a gap to fill at the heart of their defence following the retirement of the long-serving Jamie Carragher.

Alderweireld is one of his country’s massed ranks of cultured, ball-playing central defenders and can also operate in a holding midfield role.

Source: Skysports

This entry was posted in Transfer rumours and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

